Sponsors

2011-2012‎ > ‎

Round 2

After starting with over 100 teams on February 9, 2012, our pool of 300 judges have selected the top teams in each track. You can view statistics about our Round 1 competitors on our blog.

We allowed for up to 5 teams, and in some cases had fewer, and in one case had an extra team due to a tie. Each track was judged by a different set of judges. 

Thanks to our many competitors and judges for participating in Round 1!

Functional Tracks

All teams can enter one functional track

Clean Energy Track

    • Durham SciNergy - Durham SciNergy is a start-up nonprofit focused on stabilizing distressed properties in Durham’s transitional neighborhoods. By renovating green, we are helping to revitalize neighborhoods, and make sustainable living options available. 
      • Daniel Reiff,  Pratt '15, daniel.reiff@duke.edu   
      • Patrick Mills, Esq, Law School '12, pam27@duke.edu 
    • Green Dynamics - We are a team of aerospace engineers and entrepreneurs with expertise in mechanical drive systems and composite structures who are working to reduce the cost of wind power.  
      • Timothy Canavan,  Fuqua School of Business/Nicholas School of the Environment '12, tim.canavan@fuqua.duke.edu  
    • SafeTNA - We build the tools for trust.  
      • Justine Chow,  Nicholas School of the Environment '12, jsc38@duke.edu  
      • Adam Rigel, Fuqua School of Business and Nicholas School of the Environment '13, acr21@duke.edu
      • David Roche, Duke Law and Nicholas School of the Environment '13, dfr5@duke.edu
      • Jake Rudulph, Nicholas School of the Environment '12, jgr17@duke.edu
      • Paul-Harvey Weiner, Pratt School of Engineering and Nicholas School of the Environment '12, ppw2@duke.edu

    Healthcare & Life Sciences Track

    • CereNovo - Live ~ Anew   
      • Elizabeth Youngkin,  Law School '12, ery2@duke.edu
      • Ziad Mohamed, Fuqua School of Business '12, ziad.mohamed@fuqua.duke.edu
      • Matthew Rinehart, Biomedical Engineering PhD program, matt.rinehart@duke.edu
      • Yi Yves Wang, Biochemistry PhD program, yves.wang@duke.edu
      • Lin Zhang, Fuqua School of Business, lin.zhang@fuqua.duke.edu
    • CranioVation - Innovative Solutions in Neurosurgery  
      • Vijay Agarwal,  School of Medicine '15, vjagarwal@gmail.com 
      • Rob Isaacs M.D., Professor of Neurosurgery, Duke University.  
    • Nanoly - Using a Nano-Sized Solution to Solve a Macro-Sized Problem: enabling cheap, convenient, and safe delivery of vaccines to anywhere in the world.  
      • Ting-Ting Zhou, Trinity '13, ting-ting.zhou@duke.edu
    • ONCOSTEM - Targeting Stem Cells to Cure Cancer  
      • Judit Anido,  Fuqua School of Business '12, judit.anido@fuqua.duke.edu
    • SimplyAir - SimplyAir is a life saving portable carbon dioxide detector used in emergency rooms, intensive care units, and first responder situations to ensure proper endotracheal tube placement during intubation and adequate performance of CPR.  
      • Alice Yen, Trinity '12, alice.yen@duke.edu  
      • Matteo Caporrella, Pratt School of Engineering '12, matteo.caporrella@duke.edu
      • Lydia Lim, Pratt School of Engineering '12, lydia.lim@duke.edu
      • Kartik Pawar, Pratt School of Engineering '12, kartik.pawar@duke.edu
      • Cameron Setzer, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences '13, cameron.setzer@duke.edu
      • Alice Yen, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences '12, alice.yen@duke.edu

    IT, Internet & Media Track

    • Alma Matters - Alma Matters is an integrated crowdfunding social network that brings together creative university students and established Alumni for the purpose of igniting innovative research and development, free of institutional bureaucracy.
      • Tyler Nisonoff, Trinity College, 2015, tyler.nisonoff@duke.edu
      • Avinash Moondra, Trinity College, 2015, avinash.moondra@duke.edu
      • Robert Ravanshenas, Trinity College, 2015, robert.ravanshenas@duke.edu
      • Michael Baker, Trinity College, 2015, michael.f.baker@duke.edu
      • Chinmay Patwardhan, Pratt School of Engineering, 2015, chinmay.patwardhan@duke.edu
    • Mobile Foods - Facilitating communication between food trucks and their clientele. 
      • Dong Kang,  The Graduate School '14, dong.kang@duke.edu
      • Chris Pierick, Duke Medical Center, c.pierick@duke.edu
    • Pasplore - Pasplore lets you explore the web freely without sacrificing an integrated experience.   
      • Christopher Crittenden,  Fuqua School of Business '16, cc290@duke.edu
    • radius - radius is a revolutionary tool that aims to bridge the disconnect between the physical and digital worlds. 
      • David Herzka,  Pratt '12, dgh11@duke.edu 
      • Jason Tian, Pratt, tjt4@duke.edu
    • Starfish - Use intelligent Starfish, keep Hadoop professionals away.  
      • Herodotos Herodotou, Computer Science at Duke '12, hero@cs.duke.edu
      • Jie Li, Computer Science at Duke '16, jieli@cs.duke.edu
      • Xuan Wang, MEMP at Duke '12, elin.wang@duke.edu

    Other Products & Services Track

    • Edge Athletics - Resistance Training Apparel provides significant resistance to athletes during their sport-specific training. This added resistance during training will help to build greater strength, speed, and endurance, resulting in better game-time performance.  
      • Kenny Osakwe, Trinity '12, kno@duke.edu  
      • Rasheed Wiggins, Trinity ’99 and Fuqua ’10, rwiggins38@hotmail.com 
    • Green Lab Solutions - Green Lab Solutions offers innovative, high-quality products to generate cost-benefits for customers by reducing plastic consumable waste in the laboratory environment.   
      • Ali Safavi, Pratt School of Engineering '12 - bme.safavi@gmail.com
      • Adrienne Lin, Pratt School of Engineering '12 - lin.adrienne@gmail.com
      • Fanny Besem, Pratt School of Engineering '12 - fbesem@gmail.com
      • Srinivas Sai Shreyas, Pratt School of Engineering '12 - ss321@duke.edu
    • Motaavi, LLC - We are a crowdfunding platform and integrated exchange where companies can issue up to $1M in equity from any investor regardless of accredited status.   
      • Nick Bhargava,  Law School '12, bhargava.nick@gmail.com  
      • Kaiting Chen, Pratt '11, kaiting@motaavi.com
      • Melanie Plageman, Trinity '11, melanie@motaavi.com
      • Alex Zhang, Trinity '11, alex@motaavi.com
    • NeuroSpire - The future of marketing begins with neuro. NeuroSpire integrates a platform for conducting neuromarketing studies within traditional market research firms.  
      • Jake Stauch, Trinity '13, jake.stauch@duke.edu  
    • ShelfRelief - Buy and sell books with students around you 
      • Tito Bohrt, Trinity '13, hjb5@duke.edu
      • Prithvi Prabahar
      • Tyler Nisonoff
      • August Campbell

    Social Enterprises Track

    • FreeLunch - FreeLunch seeks to overcome obstacles to saving money using lessons from behavioral economics.  We will offer rewards to users for each retirement dollar saved while providing personal finance education.    
      • Josh Polsky, Fuqua School of Business '12, jsp23@duke.edu
      • Demetri Michaelides, Fuqua School of Business '12, dtm13@duke.edu
      • Darien Covelens, Fuqua School of Business '12, djc34@duke.edu
    • Pajebal - Pajebal creates mutually beneficial business-to-business connections between U.S. firms and developing-world small businesses via relationship-based lending, mentorship, and high-bandwidth web communication.  
      • Rob Krieger,  Fuqua School of Business '12, rob.krieger@fuqua.duke.edu 
      • Jessie Margolis, Nicholas and Fuqua, jessie.margolis@fuqua.duke.edu
      • Alex Ambroz, Fuqua, alex.ambroz@fuqua.duke.edu
    • Watu Mobile - Our website and mobile applications will empower NGOs and corporations to survey and message populations on their mobile phones. For organizations working in emerging markets, this transforms how they connect with their employees and customers.   
      • Alan Scharifker,  Fuqua School of Business '12, alan@waturesearch.com 
      • Steve Moses, Fuqua School of Business '12, steve@waturesearch.com
    • WAVA, LLC - WAVA, LLC provides West African agricultural entrepreneurs with the capital, technology and coaching to create profitable enterprises that nourish, employ and empower local communities.  
      • Michael Bernert,  Pratt '12, bernert.michael@gmail.com
      • Jamie Patrick, Trinity School of Arts and Sciences, jamie.patrick@wavallc.com
    • Zamsolar - Sustainable solutions to energy poverty.  
      • James Sawabini, Trinity '12, sawabini@zamsolar.com 


    Special Interest Tracks

    Special interest tracks give teams additional opportunities to advance.  Students can compete in them in addition to the functional tracks, as an additional "shot on goal".

    Undergraduate-led Startups Track

    Must be led and pitched by undergraduate Duke students
    • AMFLASK Solutions - Revolutionizing the quality of care for stress urinary incontinence. 
      • Runbin Dong,  Pratt '12, runbin.dong@gmail.com  
    • Nanoly - Using a Nano-Sized Solution to Solve a Macro-Sized Problem: enabling cheap, convenient, and safe delivery of vaccines to anywhere in the world.  
      • Ting-Ting Zhou, Trinity '13, ting-ting.zhou@duke.edu
    • NeuroSpire - The future of marketing begins with neuro. NeuroSpire integrates a platform for conducting neuromarketing studies within traditional market research firms.  
      • Jake Stauch, Trinity '13, jake.stauch@duke.edu
    • ShelfRelief - Buy and sell books with students around you  
      • Team Lead: Tito Bohrt, Trinity '13, hjb5@duke.edu
      • Prithvi Prabahar
      • Tyler Nisonoff
      • August Campbell
    • WAVA, LLC - WAVA, LLC provides West African agricultural entrepreneurs with the capital, technology and coaching to create profitable enterprises that nourish, employ and empower local communities.  
      • Michael Bernert,  Pratt '12, bernert.michael@gmail.com
      • Jamie Patrick, Trinity School of Arts and Sciences, jamie.patrick@wavallc.com

    Women-led Startups Track

    Must be led and pitched by female Duke students
    • Mati Tea - An all-natural environmentally conscious tea beverage that takes drinking beyond the drink; Plant our packaging for a flowering surrounding.
      • Tatiana Birgisson, Trinity '12, tbirgisson@gmail.com
      • Yihan Fan, Trinity, yf23@duke.edu
    • Nanoly - Using a Nano-Sized Solution to Solve a Macro-Sized Problem: enabling cheap, convenient, and safe delivery of vaccines to anywhere in the world.  
      • Ting-Ting Zhou, Trinity '13, ting-ting.zhou@duke.edu  
    • ONCOSTEM - Targeting Stem Cells to Cure Cancer  
      • Judit Anido,  Fuqua School of Business '12, judit.anido@fuqua.duke.edu  
    • One Nightstand - Quick, Easy and Hassle-Free, Your furniture means a lot to me!  
      • Akanksha Sharma,  The Graduate School '12, akanksha.sharma@duke.edu 
      • Amalina Daud, The Graduate School, amalina.daud@duke.edu
      • Rachel O'Connor, The Graduate School, rachel.oconnor@duke.edu
      • Saachi Pole, The Graduate School, saachi.pole@gmail.com
    • SafeTNA - We build the tools for trust.  
      • Justine Chow, Nicholas School of the Environment '12, jsc38@duke.edu
      • Adam Rigel, Fuqua School of Business and Nicholas School of the Environment '13, acr21@duke.edu
      • David Roche, Duke Law and Nicholas School of the Environment '13, dfr5@duke.edu
      • Jake Rudulph, Nicholas School of the Environment '12, jgr17@duke.edu
      • Paul-Harvey Weiner, Pratt School of Engineering and Nicholas School of the Environment '12, ppw2@duke.edu


    Pilot Track

    China-focused Startups

    Teams must be focused on the Chinese market.  Teams can be comprised of Chinese and non-Chinese students. The Round 2 video may also be voiced over in mandarin.  Judges for this track have self-identified as having experience in Chinese markets
    • FishCycle - Reducing fish waste and making use of it
      • YueFeng (Mike) Du, Pratt School of Engineering '14, yuefeng.du@duke.edu
      • Albert Hu, Pratt School of Engineering '14, albert.hu@duke.edu
      • Gang (William) Li, Trinity College '14, gang.li@duke.edu
    • Quality Expert - We are going to build an information platform of collecting and disseminating the information of quality standards of products to consumers. We are planning to reach the users through mobile app.
      • Kai Qu,  Pratt '12, kai.qu@duke.edu 
      • Yue Teng, Master of Engineering Management,  tengyue0412@gmail.com
      • Ying Shi, Master of Public Policy, claire.shiying@gmail.com
      • Matthew DeVito, Master of Engineering Management, devito.matt@gmail.com
    • Wrainbo Home Care - Provide certified professionals to serve high-end elderly home care market in China's tier 1 cities  
      • Duke Wong, Fuqua School of Business '12, duke.wong@fuqua.duke.edu
      • Jean Wong, Fuqua School of Business '12, jean.wong@fuqua.duke.edu
      • Ray Zhan, Fuqua School of Business '12, ray.zhan@fuqua.duke.edu
      • Yixue Zhou, Fuqua School of Business '12, yixue.zhou@fuqua.duke.edu

    Alumni / Faculty / Staff Teams



    --
    Posted by Howie Rhee, Olgun Kukrer, Chris Radford, and Janet Ng on March 1, 2012 

    Next Steps

    Subpages (1): Competitor Info
    Comments